Press Releases

Nadler Announces Transition of Top Judiciary Committee Staff

Washington, November 22, 2021

Washington, D.C. - After more than 30 years of distinguished service to the House Judiciary Committee, Perry Apelbaum will join the Department of Justice as a senior counsel in the Antitrust Division.  Amy Rutkin will continue to lead the Committee as Chief of Staff/Staff Director.  She has appointed Aaron Hiller to serve as the new Chief Counsel/Deputy Staff Director and elevated John Doty to Senior Advisor/Deputy Staff Director.

Chairman Nadler issued the following statement:

“Perry Apelbaum is a trusted advisor and loyal friend.  In his three decades of service to the Committee, he has worked tirelessly to improve the lives of the American people—protecting the right to vote, securing our basic civil liberties, and holding the powerful to account.  I am deeply grateful for having had the benefit of his counsel these many years, and the Committee’s loss is unquestionably the Biden Administration’s gain.

“I am also pleased to announce the battle-tested staff who will continue to lead the Committee.  Amy Rutkin, the Committee’s Chief of Staff/Staff Director, has appointed two new deputies.  Aaron Hiller, a legislative strategist and veteran of two impeachments, will follow Perry as Chief Counsel and serve as Deputy Staff Director.  John Doty, who has been with my office for 28 years, will assume the role of Deputy Staff Director/Senior Advisor.  I am proud of my team and, under their leadership, the Committee—perhaps the busiest in Congress—will continue its important work unabated."