Press Releases

Thursday: House Judiciary to Hold Markup to Authorize Subpoenas

Washington, DC, July 9, 2019

On July 11, 2019 at 10:00 a.m., the House Judiciary Committee will markup a resolution to authorize subpoenas for documents and testimony from current and former Administration officials relating to the Trump Administration’s “zero tolerance” policy and other family separation policies and practices; detention of children and families; and discussions about or offers of presidential pardons to Department of Homeland Security officials or employees. 

The resolution to be marked up will also authorize subpoenas to twelve individuals as part of the House Judiciary Committee investigation into obstruction of justice, public corruption, and other abuses. 

The House Judiciary Committee will authorize subpoenas for the following individuals:

  1. Rick A. Dearborn
  2. Michael T. Flynn
  3. Joseph “Jody” H. Hunt
  4. Jared C. Kushner
  5. John F. Kelly 
  6. Corey R. Lewandowski
  7. Robert R. Porter
  8. Rod J. Rosenstein
  9. Jefferson B. Sessions
  10. Keith M. Davidson
  11. Dylan Howard
  12. David J. Pecker

House Judiciary Committee Chairman Jerrold Nadler (D-NY) released the following statement on the markup:

“This week, the Committee will take an important step in moving forward with oversight of the Trump Administration. For months, we have held hearings and sent letters to the agencies of jurisdiction involved with implementing a catastrophic and inhumane family separation policy at the Southern border. Many questions remain and it is past time for a full accounting of this policy and practice. The Committee will also move forward with our efforts to request information from critical witnesses as part of our ongoing investigation into obstruction, corruption and abuse of power by the President and his associates. As always, I remain open to reaching a reasonable accommodation and will not issue subpoenas if the information we are seeking is voluntarily provided. We will get answers one way or the other.”

This markup will provide the Committee an opportunity to vote on authorizing the issuance of subpoenas. The timing of the issuance will be left to the discretion of Chairman Jerrold Nadler. The Committee will also markup four bankruptcy bills: H.R. 3311, the “Small Business Reorganization Act of 2019”; H.R. 3304, the “National Guard and Reservists Debt Relief Extension Act of 2019”; H.R. 2938, the “Honoring American Veterans in Extreme Need Act of 2019” or the “HAVEN Act”; and H.R. 2336, the “Family Farmer Relief Act of 2019.”

Background on the Committee’s immigration oversight efforts:

In May 2019, House Judiciary Chairman Jerrold Nadler along with Subcommittee on Immigration and Citizenship Chair Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), Immigration and Citizenship Vice Chair Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), and House Judiciary Vice Chair Mary Gay Scanlon (D-PA), wrote to Acting Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary Kevin McAleenan, Acting DHS Inspector General John V. Kelly, and Acting U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) Commissioner John P. Sanders demanding an immediate investigation into the deaths of five migrant children in CBP's custody over the last 6 months. The letter also requests a briefing be provided to Committee Members to inform them on the conditions in CBP’s short-term holding facilities.

In April 2019, House Judiciary Chairman Jerrold Nadler, Immigration and Citizenship Subcommittee Chairwoman Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), and Constitution, Civil Rights, and Civil Liberties Subcommittee Chairman Steve Cohen (D-TN) wrote a letter to Acting Secretary of Homeland Security Kevin McAleenan requesting information and documents related to President Donald Trump’s reported offer of a pardon to him as a means to encourage him to close the Southern border. 

In February 2019, House Judiciary Chairman Jerrold Nadler, along with the Judiciary Subcommittee Chairs and Vice Chair,sent a letter to President Donald Trump to demand answers after he declared a national emergency at the southern border and to request hearings with White House Counsel Pat A. Cipollone and Justice Department officials.

In January 2019, Chairman Nadler sent letters to Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary Nielsen, Department of Justice (DOJ) Acting Attorney General Whitaker, and Health and Human Services (HHS) Secretary Azar regarding the turning over of any information and preservation of records for the many unanswered questions about the development and execution of the “zero tolerance” policy, migrant detention, and related policies on the border.